Progressive Turnout Project Endorses 44 Legislative Candidates in Arizona

National group endorses robust slate eligible for up to $250,000 staff investment as part of effort to rally Democrats to vote

For Immediate Release
August 10, 2022

CHICAGO–Progressive Turnout Project is proud to announce the endorsement of 44 state legislative candidates across Arizona. These candidates are essential to protecting voting rights and pushing back against the extreme Republican agenda that is negatively impacting millions of  Arizonians.

These endorsed candidates will be eligible to participate in PTP’s Campaign Fellows Program, which will bring an investment of up to $250,000 to selected Arizona candidates by directly supporting campaigns with a paid staff member dedicated to voter contact. Adding just one full-time staff member can make all the difference, especially in state legislative races, which typically see less attention.

“Progressive Turnout Project is investing in both state legislative races and in the future of our democracy,” said State Representative Andres Cano. “Every single Turnout Fellow working with the Arizona Democratic Party will make an impact on voter turnout efforts for candidates up and down ballot.” Representative Cano is a member of Progressive Turnout Project’s Fellows Advisory Board.

This kind of direct voter contact is how elections are won—and PTP is thrilled to offer this level of support to Arizona Democrats.

“The fellows program from PTP is so effective and useful in ensuring our candidates have strong, paid fellows–from right here in Arizona, said ADLCC Executive Director Elsa O’Callaghan. “Our candidates have excellent support, and the next generation of campaign staffers will have the opportunity to learn firsthand how a legislative campaign works. We are so excited for this support and investment in Arizona Democrats, and flipping our state legislature.”

Progressive Turnout Project is investing over $5 million to elect Democrats in state legislatures across the country to combat Republican attempts at undermining the future of our communities.

PTP’s full list of  endorsements is included below and can be found on its website:

State Senate:

  • Mike Fogel (SD 1)
  • Jeanne Casteen (SD 2)
  • Christine Marsh (SD 4)
  • Lela Alston (SD 5) 
  • Theresa Hatathlie (SD 6)
  • Kyle Nitschke (SD 7)
  • Juan Mendez (SD 8)
  • Eva Burch (SD 9)
  • Mitzi Epstein (SD 12)
  • Cindy Hans (SD 13)
  • Alan Smith (SD 15)
  • Taylor Kerby (SD 16)
  • Priya Sundareshan (SD 18)
  • Rosanna Gabaldon (SD 21)
  • Brian Fernandez (SD 23)
  • Anna Hernandez (SD 24)

    State House Representatives:
  • Cathy Ransom (HD 1)
  • Neil Sinclair (HD 1)
  • Judy Schwiebert (HD 2)
  • Laura Terech (HD 4)
  • Jennifer Longdon (HD 5)
  • Athena Salman (HD 8)
  • Seth Blattman (HD 9)
  • Lorena Austin (HD 9)
  • Oscar De Los Santos (HD 11)
  • Marcelino Quiñonez (HD 11)
  • Patricia Contreras (HD 12)
  • Stacey Travers (HD 12)
  • Jennifer Pawlik (HD 13)
  • Brandy Reese (HD 14)
  • Keith Seaman (HD 16)
  • Dana Allmond  (HD 17)
  • Chris Mathis (HD 18)
  • Sanda Clark (HD 19)
  • Andrés Cano (HD 20)
  • Stephanie Stahl Hamilton (HD 21)
  • Jesus Lugo Jr. (HD 23)
  • Mariana Sandova (HD 23)
  • Analisa Ortiz (HD 24)
  • Flavio Bravo (HD 26)
  • Brittany Barraza (HD 27)
  • Scott Podeyn (HD 29)


Progressive Turnout Project is the largest voter contact organization in the country, specifically dedicated to mobilizing the Democratic Party and defending democracy. Our mission: Rally Democrats to Vote. Since 2015, our trained field staff, fellows, and volunteers have made more than 59 million voter contact attempts across 39 states. PTP is grassroots funded, with more than 2.3 million unique donors and an average contribution of $19.13.