Progressive Turnout Project Endorses 31 Legislative Candidates in New Mexico

National group endorses robust slate eligible for up to $225,000 staff investment as part of effort to rally Democrats to vote

For Immediate Release
August 3, 2022

CHICAGO–Progressive Turnout Project is proud to announce the endorsement of 31 state legislative candidates across New Mexico. These candidates are essential to protecting the state’s Democratic trifecta.

These endorsed candidates will be eligible to participate in Progressive Turnout Project’s Campaign Fellows Program, which will bring an investment of up to $225,000 to selected New Mexico candidates by directly supporting campaigns with a paid staff member dedicated to voter contact. Adding just one full-time staff member can make all the difference, especially in state legislative races, which typically see less attention.

“Progressive Turnout Project’s investment in state legislative races in New Mexico empowers our local campaigns to do the hard work of contacting and turn out voters,” said House Majority Floor Leader Javier Martínez. “Each Fellow who is placed on a legislative race will play a meaningful role in protecting our Democratic majorities and our democracy.” Leader Martinez is a member of Progressive Turnout Project’s Fellows Advisory Board.

This kind of direct voter contact is how elections are won—and PTP is thrilled to offer this level of support to New Mexico Democrats.

“I am ecstatic to partner with the Progressive Turnout Project and work together for a stronger New Mexico,” added House Speaker Brian Egolf. “The Fellows program provides a crucial investment in protecting our governing majority in the House and galvanizing Democrats across the state to make their vote heard. Our ability to protect those most vulnerable in our communities, protect a woman’s right to choose, and fight for a sustainable future are all on the ballot–PTP is helping us get the word out by electing more Democrats.”

Progressive Turnout Project is investing over $5 million to elect Democrats in state legislatures across the country to combat Republican attempts at undermining the future of our communities.

PTP’s full list of  endorsements is included below and can be found on its website:

State House Representatives:

  • Eliseo Alcon (HD 6)
  • Danny Bernal, Jr. (HD 7)
  • G. Andres Romero (HD 10)
  • Javier Martinez (HD 11)
  • Art De La Cruz (HD 12)
  • Patricias Roybal Caballero (HD 13)
  • Dayan Hochman-Vigil (HD 15)
  • Cynthia Borrego (HD 17)
  • Janelle Anyanonu (HD 19)
  • Meredith Dixon (HD 20)
  • Elizabeth Thomson (HD 24)
  • Eleanor Chavez (HD 26)
  • Marian Matthews (HD 27)
  • Pamelya Herndon (HD 28)
  • Joy Garratt (HD 29)
  • Natalie Figueroa (HD 30)
  • Raymundo Lara (HD 34)
  • Angelica Rubio (HD 35)
  • Nathan Small (HD 36)
  • Joanne Ferrary (HD 37)
  • Tara Jaramillo (HD 38)
  • Rodolpho “Rudy” Martinez (HD 39)
  • Susan Herrera (HD 41)
  • Kristina Ortez (HD 42)
  • Kathleen Cates (HD 44)
  • Andrea Romero (HD 46)
  • Reena Szczepanski (HD 47)
  • Sharonlee Cummins (HD 51)
  • Doreen Gallegos (HD 52)
  • Michelle Sandoval (HD 57)
  • Charlotte Little (HD 68)


Progressive Turnout Project is the largest voter contact organization in the country, specifically dedicated to mobilizing the Democratic Party and defending democracy. Our mission: Rally Democrats to Vote. Since 2015, our trained field staff, fellows, and volunteers have made more than 59 million voter contact attempts across 39 states. PTP is grassroots funded, with more than 2.3 million unique donors and an average contribution of $19.13.